Meet Biblioblond, soon-to-be Library Director!

As many of my friends and fellow students already know, last week I accepted the position of interim Library Director at Tracadie-Sheila Public Library in New Brunswick. This excites me for so many reasons. For certain, having a job already secured before graduation is a huge relief. I am someone who likes to have a plan and when faced with uncertainty I can get a bit stressed. So even if the plan is to move to a far-away small town in a province that I have only driven through once on my way to P.E.I., where I will know no one and will have huge responsibilities that I may or may not be prepared for, well at least it’s a plan. I am especially excited because of the position itself. In the end, I called and canceled the two other interviews that I had scheduled for last week. The opportunity to become a library director straight out of library school is thrilling. The interview panel was impressed by my previous experience and I responded to their interview questions to the best of my ability, but it is still overwhelming that they saw potential in me for this position! Since the library is small, I will get to touch on all aspects of librarianship like programming services, collection development, reference, circulation, and library systems as well as being responsible for promoting the library in the community and reporting to the library board. I must admit that the prospect of being a library director excites me so much that I lay awake at night thinking about ideas for cool programming and what my future patrons’ interests will be. I have started to look more seriously through McGill Library ‘s collection for books that will hopefully help me better prepare myself for the challenges ahead such as A Short-cut to Marketing the Library by Zuzana Helinsky. I acknowledge that I cannot learn everything there is to know about being a library director from a book and that is why I cannot wait to get started! Please stay posted for more details!

7 responses to “Meet Biblioblond, soon-to-be Library Director!”

  1. We will surely stay posted for more details as this is truly exciting! Best congratulations and best wishes in your new enterprise!

  2. Congrats Amanda, it’s fabulous news!

  3. Be sure to save this post. There will be days you might want to refer back to it…

    1. Amanda Halfpenny Avatar
      Amanda Halfpenny

      I’m sure there will be many frustrating moments when I will need reminding of my initial excitement for this position. Thanks for the advice!

  4. Congratulations! Library management is super fun because you get to do a little of everything! Keep us all posted.

  5. Hurray! Congrats!

  6. Toutes mes félicitations! Une belle carrière à toi.

Leave a comment