The future of libraries is awesome!

13 Feb

Comments that I have received from readers of my blog say that one of things they appreciate most is the fact that I have positive attitude and that I am optimistic about what lies ahead for me as a future librarian. It is true that some doomsday types talk about the end of libraries, how librarianship is becoming an obsolete profession, and that their pursuit of an MLIS degree was a waste of time. Blah, Blah, Blah… I just don’t buy it. I have met so many fantastic librarians who love their jobs and although there are challenges in librarianship (like in all professions), I think that the general consensus is that librarians and libraries are still doing awesome things for users and that our efforts are appreciated. No one radiates the idea that being a librarian is a worthy profession more than Michael Stephens. I challenge everyone to look at what this man has to say about librarians and not be convinced that as a profession, librarians rock!
Web 2.0: Into a New World of Librarianship by Michael Stephens

Leave a Reply

