Escape into a good story…do I dare?

18 Nov

“All the best stories in the world are but one story in reality, the story of escape. It is the only thing which interests us all and at all times, how to escape.” – Arthur Christopher Benson (1862-1925)

A few nights ago, a colleague from the public library where I work recommended to me a book called Literacy and Longing in L.A. by Jennifer Kaufman, Karen Mack. She told me that I would enjoy it and so against my good judgment, I borrowed it. I want to read it, I really do…just like I really wanted to read the last 3 books that I borrowed and then returned to the library, unread. I have so many things going on in my life right now, every day seems like a race against time. I feel that I could not possibly allow myself to escape into a good story, it would simply be irresponsible. Also, I honestly do not necessarily feel the urge to escape; I have chosen all of my commitments and I want to fulfill them to the best of my ability. However, I am torn, as a self-proclaimed bookworm and an aspiring librarian, I should be prioritizing my reading. How can I proclaim the merits of reading and encourage others to pick up a book when I do not even make time to do so myself?

So in the past few days I’ve started my new book. I have to admit, it is very interesting (the opening quote is found at the beginning of the first chapter). I won’t have time to devour it in a few days like I normally do with a good book. This could actually turn out to be a positive thing because, by reading it a little bit at a time, I will actually get to savour each chapter since I will be considering each one to be a special treat.

Do you always make time to read a good book even when you’ve got lots of other commitments? When and where do you find time to read? On public transportation? While eating meals? Before you fall asleep at night? I’m looking for suggestions!

3 Responses to “Escape into a good story…do I dare?”

  1. Meghan November 20, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    I had a comment to leave here, but it was turning out to be quite long… so I wrote a blog post about it. (www.meghansen42.wordpress.com)

    Essentially, I read whenever and wherever I get the chance. Using time that is otherwise not occupying either my eyes or my ears (for audiobooks) to read, so I get the chance to do so, even when I’m busy.

  2. Jimmy December 11, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    You know me, I’m always really busy…But I always try to make time for other things than career-related subject. I’m usually a big reader, and I love to write. What I discovered over the years was that I needed those things to feel complete, I need to read and write or I feel that I’m lacking an important part of myself. Not only read about medicine, read about anything else! So, in my busy schedule (with the help of Melissa), we found a way for me to indulge in my various interests without having to cut too much in anything that is so important right now. First of, make an open plan; meaning that you give yourself an amount of time to dedicate to an activity in your week but without giving it a precise timeframe. For example, I want to write 15 minutes a day. It could be in the morning, at night, whenever the time seems right, but I won’t finish my day without having my 15 min. to write. When you give a timeframe to activities that are more leasures than work, work and the unexpected has a tendency to keep you from using that timeframe for what was intented at first. So, non timeframe please…Secundo, give it a reasonable time limit. I know we all want to read or write for hours when it’s so interesting that we can barely stop. But I think Amanda has the right attitude about it; if you’re too busy, start the book, enjoy it, a little at a time, maybe half a chapter per day, a chapter per day, then put it down and continue tomorrow. Like that, you still enjoy a good book, youre in a good mood for the rest of your day since you made space for YOURSELF in it, and the rest of your schedule is unthouched so you feel things are advancing as usual. Lastly, to answer your question, I read and write whenever I can in my day. Public transport, meal times, early in the morning or late at night, even potty break!=) So, it is your decision when you take the time; the only important thing is to take it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Time to read? Always « A Little Library Blog - November 20, 2009

    […] November 20, 2009 A classmate of mine from library school* wrote a post a couple of days ago about being too busy to read, over at her blog, Biblioblond. I was working on a comment in response to her question about where […]

Leave a Reply

